Create an account · Home · My Account · Forums · Photo Gallery · Calendar · Classified Ads · Shopping Cart · BFS Top Sites ·
BFS Shout Box

BFS Navigation
 Home

 Discussions
 BFS Forums
 BFS AvantGo
 Priv. Messages
 News
 Topics
 Submit News
 BFS Archives
 BFS Mailing List
 BFS Calendar
 BFS Weather
 Downloads
 BFS Downloads
 Content
 BFS Top 20
 BFS Reviews
 BFS Gallery
 BFS Polls
 BFS Web Links
 Info
 Contact Us
 Recommend Us
 Google Search
 BFS Search
 BFS Members
 BFS Statistics
 BFS Mailing List
 BFS Top Sites
 Your Account
 Advertising
 BFS Classifieds
 BFS Ad Clients
 Shopping
 BFS Store

BFS Past Articles
Sunday, October 15
· Import Racing Scene 101
· Beware of counterfeit tickets and bands at Hot Import Nights events
· Elias Wins As Hayden Crash Gives Advantage To Rossi
Thursday, September 07
· Custom Bike Builder Billy Lane Involved in Fatal Crash
Sunday, August 27
· Stunt motorcyclists blamed in serious accident
Friday, August 11
· Ducati Superbike Boss Threatens To Quit AMA Superbike Series
Thursday, August 10
· Mick Doohan Former 500CC Champion Arrested After Australian Strip-Club Incident
Saturday, July 29
· Police Investigate Fatal Crash At Barber Motorsports Park Track Day
Tuesday, July 25
· Nicky Hayden claims victory again at Laguna Seca GP 06'
Monday, July 17
· Duhamel Reacts To AMA Legalization Of Full Traction Control For Laguna Seca

Older Articles

BFS Affiliate Sites

SportbikeS.com XsportMarketing.com Socalrpm.com SoCalRiders.com 2Bones.com VCBikeNites.com 2Down.org RideBehindVideos.com TeamLojic.com Zorstec.com Motochika.net 805HipHop.com Elidet.com 805Pride.com S8Clothing.com TeamAllStars.com 


BFS Advertising


BFS Site Info
Welcome, Anonymous

Username:
Password:
(Register)

Total Membership:
· Latest: Untoplesnot
· Today: 0
· Yesterday: 0
· Total: 9,683

Average Membership:
· Daily: 2
· Monthly: 50
· Yearly: 605

Total Hits:
· Today: 566
· Yesterday: 1,002
· Total: 14854584

Average Hits:
· Hourly: 114
· Daily: 2,541
· Monthly: 77,368
· Yearly: 928,412

Online Now:
· Guests: 1
· Members: 0
· Total:1
Server Date/Time:
· Date: 22 Aug 2017
· Time: 21:27:21
· GMT: -0700

BFS News Comments
· 1 Local Police Plan Crackdown On Palomar Mountain Speeding
· 2 Motorcyclists arrested after 130 mph chase
· 3 Motochika.net Aids Walk Event 9/28/04
· 4 At The End Of The Day, Mladin Is The Man!
· 5 Aaron Yates takes advantage of misfortune, wins race!
· 6 Bare Biker meets a unexpected road hazard!
· 7 No playing, more rain...
· 8 Dodge Introduced New 500 HP Concept Motorcycle!
· 9 Four Stroke Motocross Shoot out!
· 10 Four Stroke Motocross Shoot out!

  
Click here for some HOT products!

2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Special Edition

This is a 382 pound (dry weight), 998CC, 155 Horsepower Rocket! As of this writing, October 19, 2003, the bike will soon be "old hat" as the new 2004 YZF-R1's with 180 HP (with Ram Air fully functional) come into the market. But the style and elegance of the bike, along with its excellent handling will be a tough combination to beat. I picked this bike up about a month ago, and for my first foray into the 1000CC Class, I couldn't be more pleased. I got the special edition, black with red flames (see the link for a walkaround). The fuel injection system leaves your hand happy with instant RPM gratification, no lag here folks. The suspension, tires and Delta III(3) frame help carve up roads with minimal rear wheel skip. I just turned 800 miles over on the bike, so I'm still breaking it in, but the initial unoffical reports are in. 0-60, 1st gear in a little over 3 seconds. Easy 1st and 2nd gear wheel off the ground acceleration at about 1/2 throttle (3-6,000 RPM buildup with easy clutching into first and second gear). Flat out on the highway, full throttle from 60-140 MPH in under 10 seconds (probably way under, but I was a little more interested in keeping the bike in a straight line and the car rear ends that were approaching at a dramatic speed), the digital speedometer counts too fast to keep up with. Engine & Front end braking from 140 MPH to 70 was as close to instantaneous as you can get. The bike behaves very well overall. My only complaint is aerodynamics. You start getting a little beat up at about 130 MPH and it gets worse up to 140 MPH. Since I live in Wisconsin, I'll know more next season about 140+MPH. All in all, after I've ridden this bike for 2 to 3 more years, a newer YFZ-R1 with more horsepower, better handling and whatever other advancements the folks at Yamaha have been made will most likely be on my wish list. I welcome any and all of your comments and questions to my review.

Added: October 19th 2003
Reviewer: Gregg Frank
Score:
Related Link: 3D Bike Walkaround
Hits: 18376
Language:

  

[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Special Edition
Posted by 2199 on 2005-09-02 21:19:59
My Score:


Bike Update. Well, I've had the R1 for more than 2 years now and I can say "stunning". While I'm not a real stunter, I can get the front end up and close to balance point and with power only (certainly not my skill), I'm closing in on 1/8 mile wheelie. The bike now has over 7,000 miles on it, and I've put a D&D exhaust to "wake the dead". I still love the bike, but am looking at EVERYTHING else now as well. In answer to the anonymous post, I paid about $9,000 for the bike brand new. For my fellow rider in Janesville, I also live in the Fox Valley area of Wiscosnin (Neenah, Menasha, Appleton) to be a little more precise.

2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Special Edition
Posted by Anonymous on 2005-03-17 23:59:16
My Score:


hey man, ive been looking in the markets for sport bikes for a long time. my parents need to get convinced that i really need a motorcycle. ive been eyeing the yzf r1 and without a doubt in my mind thats the bike i want. pure 1000cc 180hp SUPERBIKE!!! other than the comments you wrote, can you tell me how much you got it for? I saw yamaha's site and they quoted about 11g's and was wondering if there is a way to get a better deal on this bike. thanks for your feedback. roro

2003 Yamaha YZF-R1 Special Edition
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-05-31 18:32:23
My Score:


where at in Wisconsin bud? I just bought an R1 myself. I live down in Janesville, just south of madison.


Click Here!

All content of Builtforspeed.Biz the website, and Built For Speed ® the company are protected under registered trademark ® 2000 and are copyright by Built For Speed ®. The website is property of their respective owner. Any duplication or reproduction of Built For Speed ® products or services is strictly prohibited by international trademark law, and will be strictly enforced.
Page Generation: 0.18 Seconds